Start Where You Are

Preamble Note:

Purpose Pursuers, I’ve started a public Facebook page in the hopes of connecting with you more in the coming days, though the blog will still be a big part of what I offer. This is my first share on that page inspired by the arduous task we all know as “getting started.” Onward and upward.

Perhaps it’s the fact that I could hear the streets of London in the background of my friend’s voice message over Whatsapp… or maybe it’s the dream I had last night that I was hanging out with the Royal Family and sheepishly fishing under an ornate, velvet-covered bench to find my slippers before clumsily upsetting an entire basket of the Queen’s jewels.

(Seriously. Why.)

Or maybe (and most likely) I’m just thinking of England as a distraction and, therefore, feeling this sobering quote from Hugh Laurie crying out to me from a bulletin board near our kitchen because there is a fresh page waiting here in cyberspace — a work in progress — that needs someone to open the gates for it to start running.

Mr. Laurie says, “It’s a terrible thing, I think, in life to wait until you’re ready. I have this feeling now that actually no one is ever ready to do anything. There is almost no such thing as ready. There is only now. And you may as well do it now. Generally speaking, now is as good a time as any.”

I am suddenly resolute. “Now… Ok, I’ll do it now. But I’ll use something I wrote a while ago.”

As I rooted through the bookshelf to find a nugget of something I’d written back in 2000-whatever that might be worth sharing, I stopped myself…

START WHERE YOU ARE.

Sure, dig back into the past as much as you like to find what you thought might be perfect, or more carefully crafted, but nothing holds more meaning than what exists in the present, than the richness of the soil underneath your feet right now (or the laminate underneath your slippers).

No wisdom gleaned from some golden epoch where you were at the height of clarity on whatever you were working with at the time can be nearly as poignant as admitting your own pajama-clad, mussed-up haired, bare-faced-and-surrounded-by-tea-cups-and-your half-done-taxes imperfection in the moment; your not-ready-ness, your uncertainty, your trepidation, your humanity.

We can ask why we’re here, what we have to offer, the ‘why mes’ that only stifle, squelch and stop us in our tracks.
But on top of making us stuck, those questions only lead to more questions…

Why would we be here if we had everything figured out?
And who can identify with perfection anyway?
Aren’t we all just figuring it out as we go?
Aren’t we all just learning in the midst of the mess?
Aren’t we all just doing our best with what we have?

So, my friends if you find yourself overwhelmed with where you think you might need to go, start where you are — glamorous or not. It might seem like the furthest place from where you want to be, but if you can, find it in your heart to see it as the first step of many. And sometimes, one imperfect step means more than a host of expertly calculated ones.

Photo Credit: www.brentcalisphotography.com
Photo Credit: http://www.brentcalisphotography.com
2 thoughts on “Start Where You Are

Leave a Reply

